Everything You Need to Know About Cricket T20 World Cup 2022

Just after its commencement on 16th October, the T20 world cup 2022 has been very popular around the globe. With 16 countries playing in this prestigious tournament, it is going to be like a month-long festival being held in Australia. Just after its first edition in 2007, the T20 World Cup has been a terrific source of entertainment. This is because of the shorter format and nail biting contest between the top cricketing nations around the world. This blog consists of some interesting facts about this tournament and specially about its latest edition going on right now, which makes it even more watchable.


The Inaugural T20 World Cup was held in 2007 in South Africa. The tournament was widely liked and followed around the globe from its commencement itself. The winner of the first ever T20 World Cup was India who won against Pakistan in a nail biting competition at the finals. There have been 7 editions of the tournament and 6 countries have won it to date. West Indies became the first and only team to have won the tournament twice after beating England in 2016 at the finals. The number of participating countries was 12 in the first 4 editions which increased to 16 countries after the 2014 edition and the same is being continued till the latest version i.e. T20 world cup 2022 as well. The enthralling matches in this tournament will make you grab or buy new cricket products and be a player yourself.

World Cup History Statue

Host of T20 World Cup 2022

One of the most dominating countries in World Cricket, Australia is the host of this tournament. Beating the blackcaps in the finals of 2021, it is also the defending champion. Australia is also home to some of the most beautiful and prestigious cricket grounds in the world such as Adelaide Oval, Gabba, Melbourne Cricket Ground, etc. There are 7 cricket grounds that will host a total of 45 matches to be held in the tournament including the finals at the iconic Melbourne Cricket Ground.

The cricket grounds of Australia, hosting the matches are known for their architecture and prestige. The Gabba or the Brisbane Cricket Club is a tourist spot in itself for the cricket lovers who visit the country throughout the year. The beauty of these 7 Australian grounds has made the latest edition of the tournament worth a watch. Apart from being the defending champions, Australia has always been a dominating team in the game. With four world titles in the 50 over format, it has always been among the favorites in any ICC tournament. Enjoy the live action right from the venue itself with T20 World Cup 2022 tickets.

cricket stadium background

Teams Participating in T20 World Cup 2022

There are 16 teams participating in the tournament, out of which 4 teams had to compete in the qualifiers. These teams were Ireland, Netherlands, Zimbabwe, and UAE. The host team is always a participant in the tournament. Hence, Australia is also one of the 16 teams and the favorites to win. The remaining 11 teams are the top 11 teams from the previous edition of the tournament which are England, South Africa, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Namibia, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, New Zealand, Scotland and West Indies.

Interesting Facts About T20 World Cup

There are an infinite number of exciting stats and records related to the T20 World Cup, here are some of the most interesting ones.

  1. There have been 7 editions of the world cup and West Indies has won 2 of them which is the most by any country. They won in 2012 after beating Sri Lanka in the Final and in 2016 after defeating England in the Final.
  2. Out of the 7 tournaments held till date, Sri Lanka has been a part of 3 finals which is the most by any team. They lost the finals of 2009, 2012 from Pakistan and West Indies respectively and won the title in 2014 after beating India in the finals.
  3. The 12 ball 50 by Yuvraj Singh, in the first ever T20 World Cup back in 2007 is still the fastest ever 50 in the history of the tournament. The 6 sixes Yuvraj hit to Stuart Broad during this knock makes it one of the most Iconic innings in the game.
  4. Chris Gayle holds the record for the fastest 100 in the tournament. The West Indian Giant hit a destructive 48 ball century against England. Gayle is also the only batsman in the history of the tournament who has 2 centuries under his name.
  5. After bowling Kenya out on just 88 runs while they were chasing the humongous total of 260, Sri Lanka holds the record for the biggest win in terms of margin. They beat Kenya with a huge margin of 172 runs.
  6. AB de Villiers holds the record for the most number of catches taken across all the tournaments. Mr. 360 has been a part of 23 dismissals in which he is catching the ball.

Every edition of this tournament has something new to offer and nothing has changed in the latest one as well. The T20 world cup 2022 is set to break some more records and create even more. So grab the best merchandise of your favorite team and cheer for them as they fight for the glory of becoming the World T20 champions.